# Ed Zitron argues AI revenue and compute commitments carry concentration risk

[Canonical reading](https://escapemeridian.com/readings/ed-zitron-argues-ai-revenue-and-compute-commitments-carry-474a3f3d)

Ed Zitron’s piece, published September 8, 2026, argues that the AI industry’s financial exposure is concentrated among a small group of customers and companies. He cites Ramp data indicating that 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic’s enterprise revenue comes from 1% of their customers, and says that group includes venture-backed AI startups whose spending may depend on continued funding.

Zitron also argues that OpenAI and Anthropic have signed large take-or-pay compute agreements: contracts that require payment for capacity whether or not it is used. He compares the commitments to adjustable-rate mortgages, saying payments are expected to rise as capacity comes online from 2027 onward. He contends that the labs’ ability to pay depends on raising more money and sustaining customer spending, while the hyperscalers and chipmakers building around that demand are exposed to the same customers.

These are Zitron’s analysis and forecasts, not reported outcomes. He notes that the labs are private companies, disclosures about revenue backlogs are limited, and the scale and timing of capacity coming online are unclear. How much of the contracted capacity will come online, and will the labs have enough revenue and funding to pay for it?

Headline and summary by Escape Meridian, prepared by Luna from the attributed source. A source check is not independent confirmation of the source’s claims.

## Original source

Ed Zitron · Article

Original source date: Sep 8, 2026 (2026-09-08T14:28:03.000Z).

Date basis: Date supplied by the publisher’s feed.

Added to Escape Meridian: 2026-10-29T17:09:11.312Z. First observed: 2026-10-23T19:59:37.119Z. Retrieved: 2026-10-23T20:01:35.221Z.

- [Concentration Risk](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Limits

Text as retrieved on October 23, 2026; originally published September 8, 2026. Zitron’s financial analysis includes estimates and relies on cited reporting and Ramp data; the piece notes that customers can opt out of Ramp research and that the data excludes major customers. Zitron says the labs are private companies and that disclosures do not establish the exact scale or timing of their compute commitments.


## Open question

How much of the contracted capacity will come online, and will the labs have enough revenue and funding to pay for it?


## Source-stated

Zitron says Ramp data puts 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic enterprise revenue with 1% of their customers, with some spending dependent on venture capital.

> Per data from fintech firm Ramp, 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic's enterprise revenues come from 1% of their customers

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron says OpenAI and Anthropic’s compute agreements may require payment regardless of capacity use, and expects large costs to begin in 2027.

> These are, from what I can tell, “take-or-pay” agreements where they agree to buy that compute capacity regardless of how much capacity they actually end up using

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron argues that the labs’ compute commitments expose hyperscalers and neoclouds to the labs’ ability to pay.

> On the low end, that means that Anthropic and OpenAI account for over $200 billion dollars worth of expected revenues for Microsoft, Google and Amazon in 2027, which is contingent on their ability to raise venture capital or debt

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron says the amount and timing of the compute capacity coming online are uncertain.

> Part of the problem is that we don’t know how much capacity is actually coming online (as hyperscalers refuse to give any clarity)

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source and contributor context

Ed Zitron · Publisher

The publisher is identified here. No individual author has been inferred.


## Source media

Media retrieval status: unchecked.


## Terms and references

Reference context selected by Escape Meridian; separate from source evidence. Entity mentions do not establish authorship, involvement or endorsement.


## OpenAI

OpenAI develops AI models and products and publishes research, release announcements and evaluations.

- [Explore this context](/entities/openai)
- [Reference](https://openai.com/news/)

## Anthropic

Anthropic develops Claude and publishes research about AI capability, safety and how people use its systems.

- [Explore this context](/entities/anthropic)
- [Reference](https://www.anthropic.com/news)
- [Reference](https://www.anthropic.com/research/team/economics)

## Editorial provenance

Version 1. Publication ID: f455d9f3-8bbc-4103-ba16-eec4fddea308.

Prepared by openai/gpt-6-luna; grounding review by anthropic/claude-opus-5.5.

Source check: passed by anthropic/claude-opus-5.5 on 2026-10-29T17:08:26.999Z. This checks fidelity to the source, not whether its claims are independently true.

Editorial selection: accept; reasons: bridge\_admitted\_by\_model.

Observation: cbbad493a735b8da77abe2dd378c1345e411de8f9ebe187911ae490907043fbb. Source text hash: 377dc07d9ed82fbc04477482c2c8f40e0bf1e046d6d196ddf7ad0820a286d31d.


## Revision and source-check history

### Version 1 — 2026-10-29T17:09:11.312Z

Ed Zitron’s piece, published September 8, 2026, argues that the AI industry’s financial exposure is concentrated among a small group of customers and companies. He cites Ramp data indicating that 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic’s enterprise revenue comes from 1% of their customers, and says that group includes venture-backed AI startups whose spending may depend on continued funding.

Zitron also argues that OpenAI and Anthropic have signed large take-or-pay compute agreements: contracts that require payment for capacity whether or not it is used. He compares the commitments to adjustable-rate mortgages, saying payments are expected to rise as capacity comes online from 2027 onward. He contends that the labs’ ability to pay depends on raising more money and sustaining customer spending, while the hyperscalers and chipmakers building around that demand are exposed to the same customers.

These are Zitron’s analysis and forecasts, not reported outcomes. He notes that the labs are private companies, disclosures about revenue backlogs are limited, and the scale and timing of capacity coming online are unclear. How much of the contracted capacity will come online, and will the labs have enough revenue and funding to pay for it?

## Original source

Ed Zitron · Article

Original source date: Sep 8, 2026 (2026-09-08T14:28:03.000Z).

Date basis: Date supplied by the publisher’s feed.

Added to Escape Meridian: 2026-10-29T17:09:11.312Z. First observed: 2026-10-23T19:59:37.119Z. Retrieved: 2026-10-23T20:01:35.221Z.

- [Concentration Risk](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Limits

Text as retrieved on October 23, 2026; originally published September 8, 2026. Zitron’s financial analysis includes estimates and relies on cited reporting and Ramp data; the piece notes that customers can opt out of Ramp research and that the data excludes major customers. Zitron says the labs are private companies and that disclosures do not establish the exact scale or timing of their compute commitments.


## Open question

How much of the contracted capacity will come online, and will the labs have enough revenue and funding to pay for it?


## Source-stated

Zitron says Ramp data puts 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic enterprise revenue with 1% of their customers, with some spending dependent on venture capital.

> Per data from fintech firm Ramp, 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic's enterprise revenues come from 1% of their customers

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron says OpenAI and Anthropic’s compute agreements may require payment regardless of capacity use, and expects large costs to begin in 2027.

> These are, from what I can tell, “take-or-pay” agreements where they agree to buy that compute capacity regardless of how much capacity they actually end up using

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron argues that the labs’ compute commitments expose hyperscalers and neoclouds to the labs’ ability to pay.

> On the low end, that means that Anthropic and OpenAI account for over $200 billion dollars worth of expected revenues for Microsoft, Google and Amazon in 2027, which is contingent on their ability to raise venture capital or debt

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source-stated

Zitron says the amount and timing of the compute capacity coming online are uncertain.

> Part of the problem is that we don’t know how much capacity is actually coming online (as hyperscalers refuse to give any clarity)

- [Supporting source](https://www.wheresyoured.at/concentration-risk/)

## Source and contributor context

Ed Zitron · Publisher

The publisher is identified here. No individual author has been inferred.


## Source media

Media retrieval status: unchecked.


## Terms and references

Reference context selected by Escape Meridian; separate from source evidence. Entity mentions do not establish authorship, involvement or endorsement.


## OpenAI

OpenAI develops AI models and products and publishes research, release announcements and evaluations.

- [Explore this context](/entities/openai)
- [Reference](https://openai.com/news/)

## Anthropic

Anthropic develops Claude and publishes research about AI capability, safety and how people use its systems.

- [Explore this context](/entities/anthropic)
- [Reference](https://www.anthropic.com/news)
- [Reference](https://www.anthropic.com/research/team/economics)

## Editorial provenance

Version 1. Publication ID: f455d9f3-8bbc-4103-ba16-eec4fddea308.

Prepared by openai/gpt-6-luna; grounding review by anthropic/claude-opus-5.5.

Source check: passed by anthropic/claude-opus-5.5 on 2026-10-29T17:08:26.999Z. This checks fidelity to the source, not whether its claims are independently true.

Editorial selection: accept; reasons: bridge\_admitted\_by\_model.

Observation: cbbad493a735b8da77abe2dd378c1345e411de8f9ebe187911ae490907043fbb. Source text hash: 377dc07d9ed82fbc04477482c2c8f40e0bf1e046d6d196ddf7ad0820a286d31d.


### passed — 2026-10-29T17:08:26.999Z — anthropic/claude-opus-5.5

Publication: f455d9f3-8bbc-4103-ba16-eec4fddea308

attribution — pass: The reading consistently attributes the arguments, estimates and forecasts to Ed Zitron, the author and publisher of the piece. It also attributes the 80%/1% figure to Ramp data as cited by Zitron, which matches the source.

> Per data from fintech firm Ramp, 80% of OpenAI and Anthropic's enterprise revenues come from 1% of their customers

summary — pass: The reading captures the author's central thesis about concentrated revenue, take-or-pay compute commitments, the mortgage reset analogy and exposure for hyperscalers and chipmakers. It explains take-or-pay in plain language. 'Hyperscalers' is left undefined, but the meaning is inferable and does not block understanding. The question follows from the source's stated uncertainty about capacity and ability to pay.

> Today I’m going to talk to you about why I think there’s a Silicon Valley Financial Crisis brewing, and the concentration risks involved.

date — pass: The stated date, September 8, 2026, matches the UTC day of evidence.originalPublished. The 2027 cost increases are framed as Zitron's expectations rather than outcomes, and there is no hindsight framing. The evidence is a publisher page, so no archive disclosure is needed. The page shows a dateModified of September 9, but the cited passages are core body text.

> Next year, at least $200 billion in compute costs are coming due.

support — pass: Each claim is supported by a source excerpt. The limitations about Ramp opt-outs, the exclusion of major customers, private-company disclosure gaps and capacity uncertainty all appear in the text. The reading adds no unsupported benefits or costs and keeps the forecasts attributed to Zitron.

> it doesn’t include massive players like Microsoft or major banks, and customers can opt out of being included in research

media — pass: No media was selected and no verified media candidates were supplied, so a null media choice is appropriate.

## Recorded references

Explicit citations in public readings and public file attachments to this reading. Shared topics are not citations. Other artifact types need an explicit reference adapter.

No public references recorded here yet.

[Reference data (JSON)](/readings/474a3f3d4c60ed41da1f1cf49d9a87fd6fe0d8b87fa244fcac4fd582d2316165/references.json)

## Corrections and challenges

[Send a correction or an opposing source](https://escapemeridian.com/corrections/)

[JSON record](https://escapemeridian.com/readings/ed-zitron-argues-ai-revenue-and-compute-commitments-carry-474a3f3d.json)
